Joined reallymoving.com: 2009

Customer ratings

62
20
2
2
4

Conveyancing Direct

Conveyancing Direct – legal fees to make you smile

Conveyancing Direct is Scotland’s largest company of dedicated conveyancing solicitors, offering a Scotland-wide legal service. From the Shetland Isles to Dumfries and Galloway, if you are buying or selling in Scotland, Conveyancing Direct can provide you with an unbeatable service at an unmatched price.

We are a proficient company, providing a personal and professional service to our clients at all times. We have great experience and an extensive history offering a conveyancing service, so we have the knowledge to be able to handle any requirements you may have.

Our fees are fixed, and our advice is free, so whatever the size and value of your property, you will get nothing other than a straight-forward, efficient transaction with Conveyancing Direct.

Our professional team of conveyancing solicitors, legal executives and support staff are on hand to help at all times and we are always easily accessible. We can handle your property transaction by phone or over the internet. We can complete your transaction electronically so you won’t need to take time off work to visit our offices – although you are more than welcome to!

We are completely dedicated to domestic conveyancing, so you will have the confidence that your case is our priority and main focus. Our reports are written in Plain English and we can provide any additional assistance or answer any questions you have. We will keep you informed during the process and ensure transparency throughout.

We have had over 35,000 satisfied clients, why not become one of them? We are open Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm – so give us a call!

Let us help you through your house sale, purchase or remortgage. We will make it all easy.

All of our work is regulated by the Law Society of Scotland.

Conveyancing Direct are conveyancing solicitors in Glasgow

 

Customer feedback

reallymoving.com asks every customer to provide feedback on the firm they used. The reviews you see below are real and can only be submitted via a secure link. We aim to work with the best moving home services throughout the UK.

Conveyancing Direct summary

Average service quality:
4.3 out of 5 (90 reviews)
Average value for money:
4.5 out of 5 (90 reviews)
Average rating: 4.4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews
Get quotes
Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
2.5 out of 5

Communication was never proactive on their part. The initial contact and the missives contact were both very good at replying to emails but didn't provide information up front. Also, spelling and grammar mistakes were evident in emails which was worrying, but overall they were friendly and good. I found the settling team to be slow at responding and actually quite short/borderline rude in emails. They were not friendly. They didn't explain anything and I had to chase them for answers. They would reply with single sentences - no 'hello' even and certainly no apology for delays. I didn't enjoy dealing with the settling team.

Company response: We are very surprised by the comments as the trail of emails between client and staff members is very courteous including the settlor. We understand that the client had not fully understood the terms of business in connection with the redemption of the mortgage but this was explained to her again. The transaction settled timeously.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
1.0 out of 5

Unfortunately, Conveyancing Direct failed to act on our instructions and didn't submit a bid on a property we were really keen on. My solicitor contacted me stating that they had actually submitted a bid but weren't told about the closing date, I checked with the seller's solicitors and they said that Conveyancing Direct had not been in touch at all. I found conveyancing direct's actions unprofessional and won't recommend them at all. There's a reason they are cheap, they accept more work than they can do and don't deliver as a result.

Company response: That information is incorrect. An offer was submitted to the selling agent on Good Friday as requested by the client. We were open but they were not. The offer was faxed and sent by surface mail. The selling agents failed to tell us that a closing date had been set and accepted another offer for the property. We checked our telephone records and at no time were the selling agents in touch with us. We informed the client of the chain of events. Recently we acted for the client in two other properties in which in the first he was unsuccessful at closing and in the second his first offer was unsuccessful but at the closing date he gave us no instructions. We left three messages for him but he failed to instruct us to rebid. In all three cases no fee was charged for the work carried out. We totally reject that we failed to submit the offer.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
2.0 out of 5

I intended to use them based on a recommendation, but the solicitor handling the purchase on my behalf couldn't have been any less helpful. I was kept up to date with nothing unless I phoned up myself and got the customer advisor to chase things up.

Company response: Client did not required any updates from us, as she told us very early in the course of transaction that she was thinking of withdrawing interest, due to the property being of a construction which could potentially prevent perspective purchasers from her from obtaining a mortgage. Client asked us to consider the Home Report in great detail, however,we advised her that as solicitors we were not surveyors and if she had any concerns or questions on the conditions and marketability of the property she should direct them at the surveyors since they had inspected the property and they provided the indemnity should she decide to proceed to purchase.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.0 out of 5

Bit lax with providing copies of paperwork
No itemised billing until after paid and after completion

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.0 out of 5

No further comments

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
2.0 out of 5

If you want to save a few quid, use this company, but be prepared to persevere when trying to communicate with them.

Company response: I would advise that we now have a new team system in place and our telephone system has been upgraded in January. The telephones are now covered constantly between 8am and 6pm and this should alleviate any such issues. We also encourage clients to use e-mail also as a form of communication.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
5.0 out of 5

Good service

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
5.0 out of 5

Excellent service with good communication

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
5.0 out of 5

This company was extremely professional and efficient in all their dealings with me and the Estate Agent

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
5.0 out of 5

Professional and efficient

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.5 out of 5

Great value for their service but they are not great at answering calls which drives customers mad.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
3.5 out of 5

Happy with the service overall. My only complaint is the constant requests back and forth for documents or information, when a simple email with a list of what was required, rather than ten emails requesting 1 bit of info at a time

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
5.0 out of 5

Helpful

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.0 out of 5

Very quick to submit my offer and get back to us.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.0 out of 5

Difficult to reach by telephone.

Company response: This case was registered on the 28th May and we offered on the property on the 29th May and advised the client on the same day his offer was successful.

Missives progressed as normal and concluded shortly after the loan papers were received.

Date of entry was achieved as the original date set.

During the Spring we had recruited six new staff to deal with the increased workload.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
1.0 out of 5

I would avoid this company at all costs, if possible I would advise paying more and using a reputable firm. No advice, support or communication. Not value for money at all. Very unhappy and deeply disappointed by the service from this company.

Company response: I have checked the file and am astonished at the comments. The lady client was delightful and the case ran smoothly from start to finish and settled on the agreed date. After the entry date the client asked us to intimate a claim against the Seller for three alleged defects in the property which we did within the time limit. We did not charge them for doing so unlike many other solicitors. These potential disputes are not part of the normal conveyancing process so we make it clear in our terms of business agreement that beyond submitting a claim we do not negotiate further as it is outwith our agreed remit. We also make it clear to all clients at the time of their instructing us that no property is perfect and that they should be prepared for maintenance and repair costs which might not be apparent when they view a property.

The client has not raised any concerns with us.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
1.0 out of 5

I wish I had not used them. They were very difficult to contact and did not appear to work in our interests. If I could award negative stars for service I would.

Company response: The clients instructed us on the 20/8/2015 to accept an offer for a property and the transaction was completed on schedule on 2/10/2015. The client accepted a condition that some money was retained from the sale until certain common repairs were completed. Weeks after the transaction settled the client advised us that the property agents had advised that the common repairs were not now being done and that the retention funds should be released to the client. We advised the client that the contract she had with the Purchaser was for the retention monies to be refunded once the work was done and despite what the property agents had said the funds could not be released without the consent of the Purchaser as these common repairs could be done in the future. As it transpired this was the case as the property agents confirmed that they were seeking the agreement of all the owners in the block to have the work carried out.

The client was kept fully informed throughout the transaction and we acted on her instructions to conclude the sale. Subsequently we have protected her from a claim for breech of contract by the Purchaser by ensuring that the retention funds were not released. Once the work is done and paid for then the balance of the retention funds should be released to the client. We appreciate her frustrations which we share as we have not charged for the considerable additional work involved in dealing with the misinformation supplied by the property agent.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
1.0 out of 5

Passed around what seems like everybody in the company. Some went off sick and then the missive got issued without us seeing and agreeing it first. We had problems with the home survey in that its assessment of flood risk different to the SEPA map. This became a problem as in the missives the completion date had been agreed without full consent. We were not told of the cost that we would occur if we missed this date and both of us call 2x day to every hour, it would still take them 4 working days to answer our questions.

Company response: We reject the client's complaint . At no time did we conclude missives without the client's consent. We were instructed to conclude missives on condition the common insurance policy for the building of which the property formed part included flood risk which it did.

The issue the client raised with us after instructing us to conclude missives was that the surveyor who prepared the Home Report had not mentioned flood risk and as a consequence this might affect its future marketability. We advised the client that this was an issue for her to take up with the surveyor and was not contractual with the seller. We do not know if she approached the surveyor.

We advise clients as part of our general advice at the start of transactions when offering for a property to check SEPA's website as a matter of course to check flood risk areas. The client had this advice and the Home Report long before instructing us to conclude a missives but omitted to raise it with us until after the missive was concluded.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.5 out of 5

Not the easiest to get hold of if you want to discuss anything, but everything gets done by the right time - which is ultimately what counts. If you want a really personal touch and a solicitor to hold your hand through the process, this company probably isn't for you - but if you just want a no-fuss house purchase (or sale) and are happy to let them get on with it with little interaction, then it's good value for money. I'd use them again.

Company response: We have increased our staffing complement and training to address this issue as customer service and satisfaction are very important to us.

Service quality:
Value for money:
Average rating:
4.0 out of 5

No further comments

1 2 3 4 5 

We've already helped over 1,810,064 movers

  • Compare conveyancing solicitor quotes in 3 simple steps:

    1. Complete our simple form
    2. Confirm your email address
    3. Compare your quotes
  • Get quotes

reallymoving.com

reallymoving.com works with a nationwide network of professional conveyancing solicitors to ensure you only receive quotes from top-quality firms with a wealth of experience.

Our partners are:

  • Regulated
  • Reliable
  • Credit checked
  • Fully compliant

Over 3,200 conveyancing quotes provided to our users every month