1. Home
  2. Conveyancing
  3. Advice
  4. The Conveyancing Quality Scheme explained

The Conveyancing Quality Scheme explained

The Law Society's Conveyancing Quality Scheme was launched in 2010, but is now becoming visible. We explain what this entails.

The Conveyancing Quality Scheme explained

What is the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme?

We are now seeing solicitor firms adding the status of a ‘CQS’ to their publicity, but what does this mean?

In 2010, the Law Society which represents solicitors in England and Wales, launched the Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS).  This is similar to a ‘kite mark’ of excellence.  The aim of the CQS is to provide a recognised quality standard for residential conveyancing practices and to help stamp out fraud by creating a trusted community amongst conveyancing solicitor firms.  

In order to qualify, each member needs to achieve set standards for residential conveyancing practices.  The client can then be assured that their conveyancing firm is experienced, carries credibility and will deal with their caseload in a recognised manner with recognised procedures which are essential for the other parties in the process, such as mortgage lenders, insurance firms and their clients.

Each firm of solicitors recognised by the CQS will need to register and pay application and membership fees of between £350 and £1,950 depending on the size of the firm. The membership fees are renewable each year.

More information can be found here.

Date of article: 12 April 2011


Related articles

Ready to get quotes?

We've already helped over 2,706,755 movers

11,241 user reviews

I found it really helpful to have a comparison of the costs and level of service for each firm clearly set out. It made finding a solicitor extremely easy, and I would not have been able to have got such good value for money without it

Bridgend, June 2018

As featured in