1. Home
  2. Surveyors
  3. Directory
  4. Leo Horsfield Surveying Ltd

Customer ratings

4.7 out of 5.0 based on 53 reviews

  1. 44
  2. 7
  3. 2
  4. 0
  5. 0

Ready to get quotes?

Up to 4 instant quotes from Chartered Surveyors

Get surveyor quotes

Leo Horsfield Surveying Ltd

Leo Horsfield Surveying is a Brighton based surveying company. We specialise in Architectural services, party wall matters and Building Surveys. Operating in the South of England – we undertake projects in London, Surrey, Sussex and Kent.

We are RICS Chartered Building Surveyors with extensive, specialised experience providing HomeBuyer Reports and Building Surveys within the residential sector.

We are a motivated firm of surveyors paying great attention to detail during all of the projects we undertake.

Accredited with The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS), the world’s leading centre for property professionals, our team adhere to a strict code of conduct; you can therefore be assured that the work is undertaken to the highest standards.

We carry Public Indemnity Insurance of £1,000,000 with no previous claims. 

Please take your time to look through our customer testimonials of our work and find out more information about our services. Please give us a no obligation call at your convenience where you will be able to speak with a friendly member of our team.

House Surveys

We can provide a full range of surveying services, including both of the two main types of report, these are:

  • Building Survey 
  • HomeBuyer Report

We provide detailed and high quality survey reports on any type of property, regardless of age and construction. We can include photographs in the surveys.

If you have specific concerns about the property these can be included in the report. You might, for example, have ideas to extend or modify the property or alternatively you may have worries about some cracks – regardless of the issues you may need to address, we will offer professional advice and assistance in all areas.

Whatever the requirements for your survey, we can tailor the service and advice we provide to meet your needs.

If you don’t actually want a report at all, and just need some advice, then we are very happy to meet you at the property and walk around and answer your questions. This is often quicker and cheaper and clients who have bought and sold many previous properties sometimes prefer this type of approach.

Leo Horsfield Surveying are Chartered Surveyors in Brighton

Customer Reviews

Leo Horsfield Surveying Ltd

Average service quality  

Average value for money

4.7 out of 5.0 based on 53 reviews

Service quality

Value for money

on

Excellent service and and well detailed and structured. One thing that stood out for me is that the surveyor called me after the survey to give me a verbal report before giving me a formal written report

Service quality

Value for money

on

Very friendly

Service quality

Value for money

on

Prompt and attentive to detail and very reasonable

Service quality

Value for money

on

They were helpful and professional both pre and post survey.

Service quality

Value for money

on

I was very Happy with the service they provided and i would not hesitate to reccomend this company to my friends

Service quality

Value for money

on

Excellent service. Survey carried out very promptly and thoroughly. Telephone feedback from surveyor a very good feature. Would definitely use again.

Service quality

Value for money

on

The building survey work itself and the report produced was as desired/expected, but communication was very poor. The survey was originally booked in to take place on Thurs 6th Feb. It was subsequently re-booked by the surveyor to take place the following day, Fri 7th, due to heavy rain. That's fine of course, but I was disappointed to hear this only from the vendor's estate agent, rather than from the surveyors - I had no email or phone call from them to inform me of this delay. I fully accept that changes sometimes have to be made at short notice, but I think it's pretty poor to not tell your client. Prior to the survey taking place, it took several back-and-forth emails with the office to establish a rough window of time when I could expect to hear from the surveyor by phone - I was initially told "Sorry but I can’t confirm the time, it will just be some time that day" but it later magically transpired that it was indeed possible to indicate a 1.5 hour timeslot. Why this wasn't possible when I first asked, I'm not sure - though the move of the survey to the next day left me unsure whether I could still rely on these timings. I paid the invoice on the day of the survey and understood that it would take up to 5 working days for the report to be issued (i.e. on or before Fri 14th Feb). It was therefore very disappointing that when I emailed on Thurs 13th, just to confirm that this was still on course, I received no response at all. I then rang on the afternoon of Fri 14th to check; my details were taken and the report promised, but I heard nothing. I rang again around 5pm, asking that if the report was to be delayed please could someone at least let me know. I heard nothing. The report arrived on the morning of Saturday 15th with no apology for the delay.

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate when customers can tell us when the service is not what they expected. Unfortunately due to the recent severe weather the survey was delayed by one day. We apologise that you were not informed. We cannot provide specific time slots for phone calls but we do ensure that customers receive a full update of the inspection after the appointment and before the report is issued. We aim to issue the reports 3-5 working days after the inspection. We did apologise to you for the delay on Friday 14th (the 5th working day) and the report was with you on Saturday at 8.30am. We strive to satisfy our customers and shall ensure all feedback is used constructively to improve our service to future customers.

Service quality

Value for money

on

Leo Horsfield himself is really helpful and has considerable knowledge, his report was in-depth and written in accessible language. His Office would benefit from replying in a timely manner to email enquiries and follow ups, and returning telephone calls to Clients. Value for money was good.

I am glad to hear you are happy with the survey and thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately our office manager George was away on holiday during that period of time. We have now made procedural changes in the office to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thanks again for your business and comments. Leo Horsfield

Service quality

Value for money

on

They were extremely efficient and very professional. In my opinion the detail of the buildings survey was much better than other firms that provided sample surveys for consideration. Leo called me immediately after the survey was carried out which I felt was very good service and the survey was comprehensive but also easy to understand. I would recommend without hesitation.

Service quality

Value for money

on

Great service, very quick turnaround and a thorough survey. Highly recommended.