4.6 out of 5.0 based on 32 reviews
Up to 4 instant quotes from Chartered Surveyors
Based in London and covering the Home Counties, London and County Surveyors have been established for 20 years. Our team of RICS regulated Chartered Surveyors belive in the 'old fashioned' approach - we want to make our clients feel well looked after, having received an efficient, professional and friendly experience.
Outside of our residential services, we also offer commercial building surveys, dilapidations and party wall.
We are happy to offer free initial advice, so if you're not sure what kind of survey you need, or how to proceed, please do get in touch.
London & County Surveyors Ltd
Average service quality
Average value for money
Value for money
Bill on 1 Jul 2018
Surveyor didn’t say why the central heating and hot water boiler could not be tested.
Otherwise they were very efficient and thorough.
sheaves on 12 Jun 2018
Quick, prompt replies to emails and an excellent Homebuyers report. Also very competitivly priced, would certainly use again.
JCH on 31 May 2018
We found it very straight forward to arrange and have our survey carried out. The survey was very good and we were very satisfied with it.
However the follow up service was appalling. We had a couple of queries, but were unable to speak to the surveyor.
It took him 2 weeks to reply to our queries, by which time it was too late to be of any help with our house purchase.
Also, we were given to understand, by our vendors (which we obviously cannot confirm) something was said during the survey which hugely compromised our negotiations.
I think it's a very important to be able to discuss, directly with the surveyor, any queries and in my experience this has always been part of a survey service. London and County did not provide this.
I understand that the price they charge is very competitive, which we're very pleased with and gladly accepted, however with hindsight we feel we would rather pay the extra and receive a better follow up service.
We will not be recommending this company.
Firstly, we are happy that you found the process of booking your survey to be straight forward and the survey report was to your satisfaction. We are also sorry that you found our follow-up service not to your complete satisfaction. I have looked into this and can confirm that your surveyor did in fact try to call you on the provided mobile phone number to discuss your queries, our call log shows that he called several times and each time he was unsuccessful in getting through, it was almost as if the call was rejected and not answered. Also, your queries were explicitly dealt with in the report in any case and seemed to be more general comments as opposed to actual queries – in any event, I am satisfied that your surveyor responded to you in a timely manner. Turning now to your allegation that the surveyor somehow compromised your position, you have not provided any details on this and therefore it is very difficult for me to comment. However, the surveyor in question refutes this accusation entirely.
Fhui on 18 May 2018
Prompt reply, good service.
Hanna on 13 May 2018
Our enquiry was responded to very fast, and Deborah was quick to arrange the survey and great at keeping us in the loop. We received the survey report in the schedule promised, with comprehensive detail and notes. Great value for money.
Laurence on 4 Apr 2018
Very quick to arrange survey and good communication throughout. Would recommend.
Katherine on 8 Mar 2018
Great service and value for money. We had a full building survey carried out, it was arranged quickly and the report was received in the time advised (1 week from survey), was very easy to understand and useful for budgeting costs.
Anonymous on 1 Mar 2018
Very good and efficient service.
Jason S on 18 Feb 2018
The initial contact was very good, and they were very kind in matching another lower quote. The survey was thorough and understandable. However, after I paid, the communication became very poor. I wasn't sent a receipt until I asked twice, no one emailed to say the survey had taken place and that they couldn't get into a requested area of the flat, and the report was late by a day. A lot of this could have been avoided with better communication.
Thank you for your review. I have personally looked into the points you have raised and from what I can tell our commination and level of service was up to our usual high standard. We responded to all your queries in a timely manner, and you did not raise any concerns with us directly, hence we are a little surprised to read your comments above.
Regarding your receipt, I understand that you paid for your survey by internet banking as such we would not normally send a receipt as you have confirmation of payment on your bank statement. The fact that you asked twice for a receipt is regrettable, but I understand that you did receive your receipt within a few days of asking.
We wrote to you confirming the date of the inspection and the inspection took place on this date; therefore, unless this date had to be changed for some reason we would surely not need to contact you again to confirm what we had already confirmed?
With regard to access to a requested area of the flat, I assume you are referring to the roof void. We were advised by both the vendor and the agent that this area does not fall within the demised area of the flat, and in any event the hatch was about 4 meters above the floor level and so access could not be gained. We were also advised by the vendor that they had never opened up the hatch and they though it had been sealed up. You also stated in your initial email that you understand that the surveyor may not be able to gain access to this area. You were also advised that surveyors use standard 3.1m ladders, therefore, accessing a 4m high access hatch would not have been possible to do safely.
Finally, the report was issued in line with our agreed time scale, I am therefore not sure why you would say that it was a day late.
TP on 14 Feb 2018
I had a terrible experience with L&C when attempting to get a full building survey on a property.
They said they'd take responsibility for arranging access to the property, then on the day when the survey was supposed to have taken place they emailed saying they hadn't been able to access the property and were considering it a 'cancellation' on my part, keeping the full £450 fee.
I replied saying that I hadn't cancelled the survey so shouldn't be held liable for the fee. I received a very snarky email from the Company Director suggesting I should feel sorry for him as he has to "pause outside the property" while trying to gain access.
After a lot of back and forth, with a series of increasingly sarcastic emails I was eventually able to get half the fee back, after pointing out that no time had been spent surveying the parts of the property which the company could have accessed regardless e.g. the outside, and no time was spent drafting a report, both of which would have been factored into the original quote. They hadn't offered any reporting on the bits of the property that were accessible so it was clear that the Director hadn't bothered doing any of the survey and just expected to walk off with all of the money.
I got half the fee back, so ended up hundreds of pounds out of pocket, with only a series of rude emails to show for it. If I could give 0 stars I would. Avoid.
This was a very unfortunate event and we do issue our terms and conditions clearly to both the customer and the agent. This is not something we want to happen, and we do everything we possibly can to make sure we have access as planned. As you can see from all our other reviews this customer is our first ever complaint. Unfortunately, on this occasion the vendor was not there when we arrived. We chased the agent and they chased the vendor, we were advised whilst waiting outside the property that the vendor had been called into work and not advised anyone, therefore we gave 50% of the fee back to the purchaser “as a goodwill Gesture. Our terms and conditions clearly state that if an appointment is cancelled within 24 hours for an reason that the full fee will apply. On this occasion this was the fault of the vendor. I would dispute that there were snarky comments and sarcastic emails we are a professional company that gives a good service, as you can see from all our other reviews this was an unfortunate event. That cost us as well.
Get surveyors quotes
14B Chequer Street
Get quotes for:
Cookies for this website are disabled. Press OK to active them.
We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.
You can use this tool to change your cookie settings. Otherwise, we’ll assume you’re OK to continue.
Some of the cookies we use are essential for the site to work.
We also use some non-essential cookies to collect information for making reports and to help us improve the site. The cookies collect information in an anonymous form.
To control third party cookies, you can also adjust your browser settings.
Cookies for this website are disabled. Press the below button to active them.