4.3 out of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
Up to 4 instant quotes from RICS Registered Surveyors
With twenty years of experience, Bakemans Limited offers a range of surveys in different areas. We are RICS approved, our prices are competitive and we offer services for not only residential properties, but commercial, educational and establishment.
We are professional, friendly and efficient in our service, offering high quality, thorough surveys and ensuring you feel confident and understand the survey fully. We will make sure you get the survey that is right for your property, and you can feel secure that service is RICS approved.
Bakemans Limited - East Midlands
Average service quality
Average value for money
Value for money
MoMo on 6 Jul 2020
Highly recommend Bakemans. All emails/telephone calls were dealt with promply and efficiently. The Survey Report was presented professionally with extensive detail.
Sykes on 1 Jun 2020
Really good and helpful during lock down. Dealt with the queries we had quickly, however some questionable data from the survey. Wrong number of bedrooms, confusing/misleading front door description and couldn't get in the loft (which is mostly what we wanted checking!)
Chloe on 1 Apr 2020
The service was amazing, they were constantly in touch and explained everything. They even managed to do the survey during this corona stuff that is going on. I was amazed. Thank you so much for all of the help. I cant comment on the report as I have not had it back yet, but if it is as good as the service then it will be 10/10
Adam on 27 Feb 2020
Really very poor service - would not recommend. Final survey report was promised 10 working days after the survey but didn’t arrive. I chased them up but didn’t get a response. Then after me chasing again they promised it would be later that day, but it still didn’t arrive. Eventually it came after 13 or 14 working days after more chasing. Then out of the blue another week later I was sent another report, only a couple of pages longer. Clearly they hadn’t finished writing the report first time and had just sent me what they had at the time.
The survey identified penetrative damp in the roof, photos were unclear but it recommended a damp specialist survey. So I paid £150 for a damp specialist to have a look. There was zero evidence of damp anywhere in the roof - a complete waste of time and money.
I made an official written complaint and was told that it would be investigated. Their own policy said I would receive feedback from the investigation within 21 working days. That time has now passed and I have not heard anything.
The owners who showed the surveyor around also told me they had doubts about him as he insisted on there being a cellar in the house even though there is no cellar! Now I no longer trust anything that was in the survey report - complete waste of money and additional stress.
We have taken on board your feedback and would like to confirm that your complaint has now been investigated with the following outcome.
According to our records the survey was carried out on 9 Jan 2020. The initial interim report was issued on 16 Jan 2020 after 5 working days - we offer a 3-5 working day turnaround to issue an interim report, which was met. The full survey report was issued on 28 Jan 2020 after a further eight working days, three days over our usual turnaround time of ten working days, due to staff Christmas holidays and sickness affecting our usual turnaround times. We do apologise for this.
The reason for the re-issuing of the final report a week later was due to some reports over this time period becoming corrupted according to some of our customers, so we reissued your report again which we did explain in the email sent to you on 4 Feb 2020. Photo 66 mentions mould noted to the roof felt by way of dark mouldy spots which were probably due to a lack of ventilation. Photo 67 mentions possible penetrative dampness to roof timbers and that access was restricted due to there not being a proper loft hatch but a small and restrictive eaves hatch. Again, this was explained on the survey report, where we have the potential of unlimited photos being taken during the survey and comments being made for each photograph to make the survey more understandable and transparent for our customers.
Your internal complaint was raised on 3 February 2020 and the official response was provided on 28 February 2020 which equates to nineteen working days which is within our target of twenty one working days. We cannot make a comment on the cellar issue as this is a third-party view which our surveyor has no knowledge of.
Our surveyors are fully qualified Chartered Building Surveyors with a minimum of twenty years’ experience in the industry. Although every effort was made to appease your internal complaint, we were unable to refund you the cost of your damp and timber survey undertaken by a third party which was bason on a recommendation of our survey report to ensure there were no adverse issues in the loft space which would affect your purchase, especially since the access was so restrictive. We attempted to highlight the potential risks in relation to the property which were visible to our surveyors at the time of survey and the responsibility to investigate those risks further are down to you as the client, which we cannot take liability for.
We apologise we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, and we will be happy to offer you a discount on your next survey product with us, should you choose to return.
Wishing you the best.
Chartered Building Surveyors
AVB on 27 Feb 2020
My point of contact was very efficient and helpful, however the company do not provide reports in hard copy (email only), I was not made aware of this until I requested a hard copy, and the report spoke of the condition of a garage at the property that does not exist.
Scarb on 21 Jan 2020
A very good detailed survey and for a good price.
GS on 7 Jan 2020
No comments left
Sophie on 22 Dec 2019
Quick and efficient
Anonymous on 12 Nov 2019
Unfortunately we found it very difficult to contact anyone at Bakemans when we had queries or wanted to chase the report, phones just rang out and messages were not responded to. They also took longer than they had quoted to provide us with the interim and final reports and in fact provided them only when chased more than once
Thank you for your feedback. Having checked our records, the initial interim report was issued within our quoted timeframe. The full report was issued three days outside of our usual timeframe due to a particularly busy period which we apologise for. To our knowledge, any calls received were responded to as swiftly as possible and updates provided. We have two office phone lines and an out of hours service in operation 24 hours a day - If our phone lines are engaged, a message can be left with our out of hours colleagues to request a call back. Please provide Bakemans Ltd with the dates and times we were not available so that we can carry out an internal investigation. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.
T&M on 3 Nov 2019
The company was great as first time buyers, it can be a little bit overwhelming as to what we need but Gemma was really helpful and explain everything. The process was really quick and easy.
Get surveyors quotes
14B Chequer Street
Get quotes for:
Cookies for this website are disabled. Press OK to active them.
We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.
You can use this tool to change your cookie settings. Otherwise, we’ll assume you’re OK to continue.
Some of the cookies we use are essential for the site to work.
We also use some non-essential cookies to collect information for making reports and to help us improve the site.
To control third party cookies, you can also adjust your browser settings.
Cookies for this website are disabled. Press the below button to active them.